Lime Kiln


  • Lime Kiln
  • Photos
  • Location

Built in 1874 by Roque Teixeira de Agrela, this kiln is considered a local heritage by the regional government.
Some attention has always been paid to lime production since it is absolutely necessary for a range of tasks, most related to civil construction.

The Câmara de Lobos lime kiln, located in Trincheira, was constructed by Roque Teixeira de Agrela in 1874 and underwent restoration and adaptation work in 1914.

Despite being restored in 1960, the kiln only remained in operation until the 70s time when it was closed, as transformed lime was being imported and because several complaints had been made by the local population about the smell and smoke that resulted from its production.

The Municipal Council bought this building and its surroundings in 1983. At the time, the site was occupied by a small scale industry for drying "peixe gata" [cat fish], (Scymnus lichia), a type of shark from the deep waters around Madeira.
The kiln is currently part of the Câmara de Lobos seafront project, which includes the salt deposits and the entire Trincheira zone. It is considered local heritage by the regional government.
 

Lime Kiln

Contacts
Trincheira
Check the time tables
RODOESTE
Bus Line - 3,7,27,96,137
Add your trip Back
Share
Youtube Flicker RSS ISSUU
World´s Leading Island Destination 2019 - WTA Award Discover Madeira SRTC Região Autónoma da Madeira