"Music in the North" – Cycle of Baroque Music - Madeira 600 Years

  • Photos

As part of the 600th anniversary celebrations of the Discovery of the islands of Madeira and Porto Santo, the "Music in the North" cycle of Baroque music aims to explore and promote among the Madeiran public one of the most remarkable and rich periods of our musical heritage from the 17th and 18th centuries.

A period of great transformations, it laid the foundations for the musical system still in use today and produced remarkable composers and works we all know and love. 
The title, "Music in the North", refers to the fact that the entire cycle is to be presented on the north coast of Madeira, thus giving these municipalities a cultural event with unique characteristics on the island. This cycle of music was presented by the Regional Secretary of Tourism and Culture at the congress "São Jorge – Memory and Future" held in August of last year. The focus on the Baroque period arose from the relationship with the rich heritage existing in this parish: the treasured Parish Church of São Jorge. 
Centred on sacred music, the programme will present works by great international composers, such as the Stabat Mater by Pergolesi, together with a Salve Regina by Alessandro Scarlatti, both works for Soprano, Alto and Orchestra which will be interpreted by the Mateus Baroque Orchestra on period instruments. Also included are works by Vivaldi and Bach and by famous Portuguese composers such as António Teixeira, Carlos Seixas and Francisco António de Almeida, among others, interpreted by two vocal ensembles dedicated to the interpretation of polyphonic music from Portugal. The aim is to showcase some of the national and international music of this period.
The programmes also seek to mark the period of Lent which coincides with the festival, putting an emphasis on works that were composed for this period and thus encouraging reflection.

31 MARCH (Sunday) 18:00
"Stabat Mater of Pergolesi" 
“Stabat mater dolorosa juxta Crucem lacrimosa, dum pendebat Filius”
The pained mother stood weeping by the cross to which her son had been nailed.
Thus begins the Stabat Mater by Pergolesi, an indispensable work in the international baroque repertoire and the centrepiece of this programme. It is one of the best known works of the Baroque and painfully recounts the suffering of Mary confronted by the crucifixion of Jesus. Commissioned by an Italian confraternity for its meditation in honour of the Virgin Mary on Good Friday, this work for Soprano and Alto was one of the last to be composed by Pergolesi in his short life (1710-1736), having achieved remarkable success in the 18th century. The text is a sacred poem written in the 13th century by Jacobus de Benedictis and for which music has been composed by several composers over time. This work will be presented for the first time in Madeira at this concert, on period (Baroque) instruments. 
The programme will also present another work of a Marian nature: Salve Regina for two voices and orchestra by Alessandro Scarlatti, which presents some similarities to Stabat Mater in terms of musical atmosphere. The programme will also include two instrumental works: a concerto by Vivaldi and a symphony by Avondano. As was common practice with the baroque sonata da chiesa, these pieces aimed to create a purely instrumental interlude to prepare audiences for hearing and reflecting on sacred texts of vocal works. 

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Concerto for strings and continuo in F major, RV 138
Allegro - Adagio - Allegro
Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725)
Salve Regina for soprano, alto, strings and continuo
João Pedro Avondano (1714-1782)
String symphony in D major
Allegro - Adagio – Minuetto
Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710-1736)
Stabat mater for soprano, alto, strings and continuo
Under the artistic and musical direction of musicologist maestro Ricardo Bernardes, the Mateus Baroque Orchestra is formed by some of the best musicians in Portugal and Spain specialising in historical interpretation with period instruments.
The Orchestra was founded from a tradition initiated by Marie Leonhardt with the Mateus Baroque Ensemble in a context which is today being recovered and intensified by the musical activities of the Casa de Mateus Foundation. In recent years, this recovery has been marked by the concert cycles Memórias e Caminhos de Mateus and by the return of the International Music Courses at Casa de Mateus, both focused on the exploration of the repertoire and practices of early and baroque music.
The ensemble's repertoire is comprehensive, though it pays special attention to Iberian music and an Italianate aesthetic, as well as to the ramifications of these in Brazil and Latin America between the 16th and early 19th centuries.
The Orchestra's debut concert, "Setaro, construtor de utopias", celebrated the dissemination of opera in northern Portugal and Galicia between the 1850s and 1870s as well as its projection to Brazil via Dom Luís António, 4th Heir to the House of Mateus and Governor of the Captaincy General of São Paulo between 1765 and 1775. Following this debut concert, the Orchestra continued its strategy of building partnerships, using the Casa de Mateus Foundation as a base for artistic production and national and international success.

Mariana Castelo Branco – soprano
Arthur Filemon - alto
Tera Shimizu - violin I
Miguel Simões - violin I
César Nogueira - violin I
Raquel Cravino - violin II
Álvaro Pinto - violin II
Paul Wakabayashi - viola
Paulo Gaio Lima - cello
Marta Vicente - double bass
Catarina Sousa - harpsichord
Ricardo Bernardes - conductor

"Music in the North" – Cycle of Baroque Music - Madeira 600 Years

Price: Free Entrance
Igreja Matriz de São Jorge - Rua Cardeal D. Teodósio de Gouveia 9230-143 São Jorge
Check the time tables
Bus Line - 103,138
Visit Official Website Add your trip Download full program Back
Youtube Flicker RSS ISSUU
World´s Leading Island Destination 2018 - WTA Award Discover Madeira SRTC Região Autónoma da Madeira